Members Only:

Forgot your password?


Craft Council of
Newfoundland and Labrador

Devon House Craft Centre
59 Duckworth Street
St. John's NL, Canada
A1C 1E6
Tel: (709) 753-2749
Fax: (709) 753-2766
Email: [email protected]

Awards for Excellence in Craft Announced

On Friday, June 22nd at the Craft Council's 40th Anniversary Gala, seven Awards for Excellence in Craft were presented.

The Award for Innovation and Design demonstrates a sensitive use of materials and an innovative approach to the application of design principles. This year’s winner was woodworker and clockmaker David Goodyear of Torbay. His winning piece, Hypnosis - a clock with hand cut wooden gears - was made using both contemporary and traditional woodworking techniques and is currently on display as part of the Annual Members Exhibition.

The West Award for Personal Expression is awarded to a craftsperson whose work best illustrates a personal and individual expression of thought and experience. This year, St. John’s textile artist Kelly Bruton was honoured for her wall hanging, Sometimes it's the Botswana Blues 2012 currently on display as part of the Annual Members Exhibition.

The Jurors’ Choice Award goes to an an outstanding piece of work that does not fit an existing category. The work might excel in design, technique, colour, humour, use of material or interpretation of tradition. This year’s Jurors’ Choice went to St. John's quilter Marjorie Colman-Sadd, whose double-sided quilt using the bargello technique garnered the prize. This piece is also currently on display.

Exceptional Achievement by a Young Craftsperson is an award honouring a promising individual, aged 16 to 30, in the early stages of a professional craft career. This award is sponsored by Marget Gunness Davis in memory of Elsie Miles, and was presented to Heather Jones. Jones is a soap maker from Witless Bay who handcrafts soap products with natural sea kelp extract.

The award for Interpretation of Provincial History goes to a craftsperson that uses his or her skill to interpret and present the history and heritage of the province. Sponsored by the Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador, this award was received by Veselina Tomova, a St. John's-based visual artist.

The award for Preservation of Traditional Craft Skills recognizes the work of a group or individual in the preservation of a craft skill that has been handed down from generation to generation in the history of Newfoundland and Labrador. This year’s winner was accomplished basket maker and teacher Eileen Murphy of Corner Brook.

The award for Outstanding Achievement recognizes a group or individual that has made an exceptional contribution to the character, strength or growth of craft in Newfoundland and Labrador. This award is sponsored by Sally Clouston Johnson and recognizes the exceptional work of fine craft jeweller Don Beaubier, of Bay Bulls.

Congratulations to all of our Awards for Excellence recipients! 


EVENT PHOTOS available at our Facebook Page.